UANA is a sports organization with the purpose of organizing, supervising and controlling, in the Western Hemisphere, the amateur aquatics activities of Swimming, Diving, Water Polo, Synchronized Swimming, Master and Open Water Swimming.  In 1948 during the Olympic Games in London, England, an enthusiastic group of athletic administrators with strong convictions, met for the purpose of unifying aquatic activities in the Americas into a single regional and international organization.  In order for this Constituent Assembly to take place, it was necessary that the four geographic areas comprising this organization to be united in purpose, and that their representatives be present.

UANA is proud to have been the first sport to unify the four areas of the Americas into one organization.  An even greater source of pride and satisfaction is the factor that the A.S.U.A / U.A.N.A. not only managed to form the union, but managed to develop a larger, stronger and all, a deeply human and fraternal organization over the years.

UANA is divided into 4 Zones, each with its own body which organizes competitions. The bodies that oversees these Zones, and their approximate geographical areas, are:

  • Zone 1: CONSANAT–the South American Swimming Confederation (Confederación Sudamericana de Natación).
  • Zone 2: CCCAN–the Central American and Caribbean Swimming Confederation (Confederación Centroamericana y del Caribe de Natación).
  • Zone 3: United States Aquatic Sports (USAS)
  • Zone 4: Aquatic Federation of Canada (AQUATICS CANADA AQUATIQUES)


Zone Confederation Countries
(26) FLAGS-2FLAGS-2.5
3 USA 
(1)  FLAGS-3
4 AFC 
(1)  FLAGS-4


The Pan American Games Movement consists of international sports federations (IFs), National Olympic Committees (NOCs) that are recognized by PASO, and organizing committees for each specific Pan American Games. As the decision-making body, PASO (Pan American Sports Organization) is responsible for choosing the host city for each Pan American Games.
The host city is responsible for organizing and funding a celebration of the Games consistent with Olympic Charter (since PASO is affiliated with the IOC, the Olympic Charter) and rules. The Pan American Games program, consisting of the sports to be contested at the Games, is also determined by PASO.

The celebration of the Games encompasses many rituals and symbols, such as the flag and torch, as well as the opening and closing ceremonies. Over 5,000 athletes compete at the Pan American Games in 36 different sports and nearly 400 events. The first, second, and third place finishers in each event receive gold, silver, and bronze medals, respectively.
The Pan American Sports Organization (PASO) governs the Pan American Games, which are held every four years in the year before the Summer Olympic Games, and selects the host city for each Games through a vote of its 41-member National Olympic Committees. PASO, which is affiliated with the International Olympic Committee (IOC), also has an important sport development mission to promote, develop and celebrate sports in the Americas and the Caribbean.

PASO Member National Olympic Committees

41 countries and protectorates

3 North American members

•    Canada
•    Mexico
•    United States of America

19 Caribbean members

• Antigua and Barbuda
• Barbados
• Cayman Islands
• Dominican Republic
• Jamaica
• Puerto Rico
• St. Vincent and The Grenadines
• Aruba
• Bermuda
• Cuba
• Grenada
• Saint Lucia
• Trinidad and Tobago
• Bahamas
• British Virgin Islands
• Dominica
• Haiti
• St. Kitts and Nevis
• Virgin Islands

7 Central American nations

• Belize
• Guatemala
• Panama
• Costa Rica
• Honduras
• El Salvador
• Nicaragua

12 South American members

• Argentina
• Chile
• Guyana
• Suriname
• Bolivia
• Colombia
• Paraguay
• Uruguay
• Brazil
• Ecuador
• Peru
• Venezuela